Losing Grandad

I am fortunate enough to have only lost one person in my family. However the day we lost Grandad is such a depressing day that I will never forget.

My Grandad battled with cancer, he spent a lot of time in hospital he probably forgot what home really was. I only visited him in hospital once, I remember seeiloosing-granddad-1ng all the tubes that were connected to him and how sad he looked.

My Grandad loved his hair, and when he started loosing it because of treatment you could tell he was starting to give up. My Nan told me a story of how one day when he came back from hospital he looked in the mirror that was opposite the front door and he cried.

He started to get really ill, he couldn’t bend down to put his shoes on so my Nan did everything for him. He wasn’t able to walk up stairs to get to bed so they had a bed put in the living room so he wouldn’t have to struggle going upstairs.

It started to feel like we were counting down days until we lost him. One day we were all at my Nan’s house when suddenly all the kids were getting rushed out and taken back to my house, I am the oldest so I questioned what was happening, my old stepdad told me that they had to call an ambulance for Grandad. I worried that this was it, this is the day we lost him. But he fought through. Loosing granddad 2.jpg

After another period time spent at the hospital he came home and everything seemed great, the doctors told us that he has improved and he is okay to come home.
But then one day, I woke up and I started getting ready for school, I walked downstairs to see my mum, and sat on the sofa was my Nan and my younger uncle cuddling and crying. My mum was sat on a chair and she looked at me with tears in her eyes. I was worried and confused, so I asked ‘Whats happened?’. Then my mum told me that Grandad had died. My Grandad has peacefully passed away in his home, he didn’t have to hurt anymore.

I remember crying so hard it felt like I was screaming, I lept into my mums arms and everyone stated crying again.

It’s been 5 years since we lost Grandad. Every New Years Day at midnight we all let off a balloon with a little message on it for him to read.

Grandad I have so much to thank you for, I remember you telling me that I was beautiful, you took me on so many great holidays with my Nan and my Uncle. You were and still in some ways are a great part to this crazy, large family and we all miss you.

It’s been 5 years since we lost Grandad, and we think of him everyday.

Codie xx

loosing-granddad-3

 

 

One thought on “Losing Grandad

Leave a Reply

