Catfish

I’m sure you are all aware what a catfish is, a person online pretending to be someone they are not. Well I have been catfished.

catfish

I used to talk to a guy online, his name was Dylan and honestly he was one of the nicest guys I had ever spoke to. He was so easy to chat to, so understanding, so caring and actually seemed so interested in me. We met on kik, he messaged me and it just went from there. It was never a relationship, but I was so interested in this guy and it could of potentially been a relationship.

So this guy would never call me and that was one of the first signs. I’ve always been someone who prefers calling to texting, get a real feeling for what the person is actually like and if you can actually hold a conversation with the person. Another thing was I would keep asking him for new photos and he would either just flat out refuse or send me photos that I had already seen before. He wouldn’t give me his Instagram, Facebook or Snapchat.

So one day we were talking and he sent me pictures of his sister. Then I clocked on, the guy was this girl he had just sent me pictures of. I was talking to a girl, and honestly I wasn’t mad at all, I completely understood, because I catfished someone before this.

When I was in year 9 I pretended to be a guy. I was talking to a girl called Ruby. I made myself out to be this blonde, 17 year old lad, where in reality i was a 13 year old, brown haired, girl.

The reason I did it is because I was so uncomfortable with my sexuality. I thought it would be easier to just live this complete double life that no one in my real life would ever have to find out about, rather than accept who I was. At the time, I was also curious about my gender and how I identified. For a small period in my life I did want to be guy. This is not how I feel now but I think it was a big part of my past as I was so confused and just so curious.  We spoke for a good half a year.

In the end the girl did find out that it was me pretending to be a guy because I did the same thing the guy I was talking to did, I sent pictures of myself and told them it was my sister. It is something that I really do regret, however it was a big learning curve in my life that I don’t have to pretend to be someone i’m not in order to make people like me and want to talk to me. I feel bad because I really hurt this girl and I ruined her trust, and it is something that I am still deeply sorry about.

Don’t pretend to be someone you’re not

Codie xx

Leave a Reply

